22 February sees the release of this new Northern Spy records out-there experimental album by Oregon-raised Nate Wooley.

The album takes its name from a Rocky Mountains ice field in Canada.

With the trumpeter-composer are Mary Halvorson on guitar, Susan Alcorn on pedal steel, and Ryan Sawyer on drums.

The pre-order track you can listen to above has a stark and agile fluency to it, a plangent mood effortlessly summoned and sustained.