The full Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) award longlist is as follows: 

  1. Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body

  2. Aidan O’Rourke – 365: Vol. 1

  3. Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian

  4. Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife

  5. Brìghde Chaimbeul – The Reeling

  6. C Duncan – Health

  7. Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff

  8. CHVRCHES – Love Is Dead

  9. Edwyn Collins – Badbea

  10. Fatherson – Sum Of All Your Parts

  11. Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas

  12. Free Love – Luxury Hits

  13. Graham Costello’s Strata – Obelisk

  14. Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson– Laws of Motion

  15. Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is

  16. Kinnaris Quintet – Free One

  17. Mastersystem – Dance Music

  18. Niteworks – Air Fàir an Là

  19. Sean Shibe – softLOUD

  20. The Twilight Sad – It Won’t Be Like This All The Time

The Fergus McCreadie Trio recently won a Scottish Jazz Award and were Parliamentary Jazz-nominated last year.  Their debut, all bright voicings, melodic, folky, containing a lilt to Turas that is never trite or too homely — the work of the McCreadie trio legislates all by itself. The title is a Gaelic word for “journey”. McCreadie, who writes the tunes, is with David Bowden on double bass and Stephen Henderson on drums in solid support and was cleanly recorded by Liane Carroll’s favourite producer/studio engineer James McMillan working from his own studio. 

The style and sense of flow of the tracks are very mature, and regards McCreadie it does not take a genius or very long at all to realise that the pianist has a huge technique: think Brian Kellock-meets-Gwilym Simcock. Less trad (eg in an Art Tatum sense) than Kellock and not at all jazz-rock (eg Metheny-like) going on prog (eg King Crimson) as is Simcock’s wont but landing in the common ground they share. 

When McCreadie moves full tilt into an improvisation it is completely Jarrett fluent circa My Song in terms of feel and composure, swings like the clappers and has a real passion to it sometimes aided by say on ‘The Set’ the metrical rigour and discipline of a reel. A fugue state of creativity reigns. 

The public vote is spread over three full days and opens on 12 August. The shortlist will be announced on 15 August. The award show itself will be held at the Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh on 6 September. SG.